EBFP 2018 Judges Panel

Open Call for Submissions 2018

We’re opening for submissions for the Epigram Books Fiction Prize 2018!

Prize winner will receive S$25,000 and a publishing contract
Three finalists will each receive S$5,000 and a publishing contract
Longlisted entries also stand a chance to be published

Closing Date: Wednesday, 1 August 2018

Read more

The 2017 Winner

Sebastian Sim

Sebastian Sim is not one to shy from the road less taken – he spent his twenties backpacking around the world to soak up different experiences and cultures.”[I think] there is an advantage in writing when you’re older,” he remarks. “You have to live and explore life first. Don’t be afraid to try new things.

As a man writing from three women’s perspectives in his second novel, Sebastian has no lack of imagination. As a child, he harbours a runaway imagination. He recreates the stories in his mind and takes on the role of the protagonists. In his fantasy land, he could be a deadly assassin in Tang Dynasty China going undercover as the emperor’s concubine or a teenage songstress trying to escape from the abusive gambler of a stepfather.

Sebastian has published several books in Chinese and his first English novel, Let’s Give It Up for Gimme Lao! was shortlisted for the 2015 Epigram Books Fiction Prize and published in 2016.

Catch Sebastian’s response after being announced the winner of the 2017 Epigram Books Fiction Prize!

The Riot Act

Winner for the 2017 Epigram Books Fiction Prize

Questions abound in the aftermath of the Little India riot. Hashwini wonders if she triggered the chaos. Jessica asks if she should reveal what truly happened in the ambulance. Sharon thinks that the catastrophe could be what she needs to boost her political career.

The lives of three women intertwine when accident and coincidence collide. In Gimme Lao!-style hilarity, they become wrapped up in a web of truth, deception and political connections. This is a perceptive, fast-paced romp that asks “what if” of the riot that recently shook Singapore.

Let’s Give It Up for Gimme Lao!

Finalist for the 2015 Epigram Books Fiction Prize

“I don’t aspire to be nice. I do what is necessary to get what I want.”

Born on the night of the nation’s independence, Gimme Lao is cheated of the honour of being Singapore’s firstborn son by a vindictive nurse. This forms the first of three things Gimme never knows about himself, the second being the circumstances surrounding his parents’ marriage, and the third being the profound (but often unintentional) impact he has on other people’s lives.

Tracing social, economic and political issues over the past 50 years, this humorous novel uses Gimme as a hapless centre to expose all of Singapore’s ambitions, dirty linen and secret moments of tender humanity.

The 2017 Finalists

Our EBFP Titles

Epigram Books Award Ceremony 2017

News and Updates